United Nations Forum on Forests Bureau of the Ninth Session (UNFF9 Bureau)

Minutes of the first meeting

Monday-Tuesday, 24-25 August 2009 UN Forum on Forests Secretariat One UN Plaza, DC 1 – 1235, New York

Participation

Bureau members: Mr. Arvids Ozols, Mr. Ingwald Gschwandtl, Mr. Raymond Harold Landveld and Mr. Zainol Rahim Zainuddin. Mr. Ndiawar Dieng was represented by Mr. M. Mame Baba Cisse from the Permanent Mission of Senegal in New York.

UNFF Secretariat: Ms. Jan McAlpine, Mr. Mahendra Joshi, Mr. Peter Csoka, Ms. Mita Sen and Ms. Catalina Santamaria.

Secretary of the Forum: Ms. Vivian Pliner.

Others: Ms. Zalwani Zalkaply (Permanent Mission of Malaysia) and Mr. Zigmars Zilgalvis (Permanent Mission of Latvia).

The agenda of the first meeting of the Bureau was the following:

- 1. General introduction
- 2. Organization of the Bureau
- 3.

Noting the significance and time constraints related to the preparatory activities for addressing the UNFF9 agenda, the Bureau underscored the importance of successful conclusion of the negotiations on Mean of Implementation in 2009.