63/406. Election of five members of the International Court of Justice

The General Assembly, at its 39th and 40th plenary meetings, on 6 November 2008, and the Security Council, at its 6011th and 6012th meetings, on the same date, proceeded independently of one another to elect, in accordance with Articles 2 to 4, 7 to 12 and 14 and 15 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, rules 150 and 151 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly and rules 40 and 61 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Council, five members of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2009 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Mr. Ronny Abraham (France), Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan), Ms. Rosalyn Higgins (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Mr. Gonzalo Parra-Aranguren (Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela) and Mr. Raymond Ranjeva (Madagascar).

Having obtained the required absolute majority of votes in both the General Assembly and the Security Council, Mr. Ronny Abraham (France), Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (Jordan), Mr. Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (Brazil), Mr. Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) and Mr. Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia) were elected as members of the Court for a nine-year term of office beginning on 6 February 2009.

As a result, the International Court of Justice is composed as follows: Mr. Ronny Abraham (*France*),*** Mr. Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh (*Jordan*),*** Mr. Mohamed Bennouna (*Morocco*),** Mr. Thomas Buergenthal (*United States of America*),** Mr. Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade (*Brazil*),*** Mr. Christopher Greenwood (*United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland*),*** Mr. Kenneth K