New York, 27 April-22 May 2015

Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia

Working paper submitted by the Kyrgyz Republic on behalf of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan

1. Reiterating their firm conviction that the establishment of nuclear-weapon-free zones on the basis of treaties freely arrived at among States concerned significantly promotes nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation at the regional and global levels, and stressing their determination to make a joint contribution to the strengthening of peace and security on the basis of article VII of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan signed the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia in Semipalatinsk on 8 September 2006. Following the completion of domestic procedures by the Republic of Uzbekistan (10 May 2007), the Kyrgyz Republic (27 July 2007), the Republic of Tajikistan (13 January 2009), Turkmenistan (17 January 2009) and the Republic of Kazakhstan

States are the first participating States in a nuclear-weapon-free zone to have included in their regional arrangements obligations to implement the provisions of an International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) agreement for the application of safeguards, in accordance with the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (INFCIRC/153 (Corrected)), and the Mode37(i)-22(rg07A)-24(d-41(d)-49(i)-34(s.e31(t)-34(h)-29(e)-25()) and the Mode37(i)-22(rg07A)-24(d-41(d)-49(i)-34(s.e31(t)-34(h)-29(e)-25())

ecycle Please r

15-05884 (E) 300415 * 1505884* preventing nuclear materials and technologies from falling into the h

2/2